Letter from a Character

This post is takes place in the 1920’s from Adela Van Norman, a character from the film “IT” 1927, to her story writer expressing her dismay at the outcome of her character’s situation in the film.

The letter is entirely fictional.

Dear Elinor Glyn,

As the story writer for It, I think you did an exemplary job. The plot is exciting, romantic, mystifying and amusing, but what the audience most likely does not comprehend is that the printed story is insensitive to myself. I realize that women these days are beginning to act slightly frivolous, and that there is a greater appreciation for these women, who are of a lesser caliber than myself, as more enjoyable.

I would like you to know that I disagree with this assumption and wish that you would re-consider the ending to this story. Monty walks around prattling on and on about “it”, and I am getting a headache because no one considers me of a well enough upbringing to have “it.” How come I have to be the one who gets swept to the side while Betty Lou, the girl who comes from no money and no family, gets the gentleman that I have been trying to win over for more or less my entire life? I have no patience to compete with the modern day neurotic dame who spends her evenings in a burlesque fantasy and settles for no less than cheap wine and no-goodnik schemes.

If the best reasoning you have to penning the blossoming romance between Mr. Waltham and Betty Lou is her being a working gal of the revolution then it would be wise to reconsider. The modernist woman in the workplace does nothing but taint her ability to be a doting housewife to her husband. Eventually the marriage will end abruptly and the children will be affected and it will be because of this unbecoming woman not knowing her place in society.

I do, however, believe I was represented incorrectly on screen. Women in the 20’s do not have to be uptight if they come from money! Yes, I get covetous, but who wouldn’t? I am highly insulted that you would consider me of such limited intellect as to not realize there was something going on between my darling Mr. Waltham and that child Betty Lou. I hope you are not insinuating that all blondes are unintelligent, for if it is what you are attempting to portray, you negate everything for what the so-called “modernist flappers” stand.

I only sought to write you a short letter explaining that I do not appreciate the way I was represented in your idea of a “good story.” Please pass my feelings on to our director Clarence Badger and let him know that it is not accurate to portray a woman based solely on her hair color and social status. Please do not fail to remember this in future films.

Cordially,

Adela Van Norman

Leave a Reply

