A Low-Key Day

Day 14

Last night was the most restless night’s sleep since I first arrived. After falling asleep around 11 p.m. I woke up a half hour later and couldn’t get back to sleep until 4 a.m. I woke up at 6:30 a.m. because I told Bob I would go for a run with him. For an older man I was incredibly surprised, I had to work to keep up with him and there was no way I was going to be outrun by him. At the end of the run I was out of breath and overall very pleased with myself.

For some reason I had a rough day and didn’t feel like eating and I mostly kept to myself at school. I got the opportunity to play with the kids and we had story time. I began with the story of Hansel and Gretel and the kids were entranced.

They then decided they wanted to tell stories. One of them told an episode of Dora the Explorer while the rest told stories that almost always ended in someone being whipped or stabbed. I began to wonder where they hear these stories.

The last hour of school seemed to last forever as I was rendered useless as teachers prepared for graduation with the students. Finally it was 3:30 and time to go home. I was able to relax on the couch until in the middle of texting my mom i looked over and a black spider the size of a nickel was walking about an inch from my shoulder. Anyone who knows my fear of spiders is not surprised that i started screaming and jumped away from the couch. Of course everyone came running and instantly began laughing because i am afraid of a spider. I refused to go anywhere near the couch until the spider was killed. But no one would do it, I’m convinced they all are crazy because they just wanted to let it live. So I decided I was going to have to face my fear and kill it. So I picked up a shoe and was trying to get the nerve to go near the terrifying thing that was now on the wall when little Joseph, all of 4-years-old walked straight up to the wall, looked at the spider for a minute before slapping it with his hand and killing it.

A 4-year-old saved my life! The whole thing was so comedic I started laughing. A low-key day at least had a pretty entertaining end.

2 Comments

  1. Okay so I spider sent you screaming and crying for the hills but a cockroach comes crawling out from under your mattress and you continue to lay in that bed every night? Well alrighty then! Glad you posted again. Keep them coming ❤

Leave a Reply

