Last Day at Havilla

Day 25
Today was my last day at Havilla Children’s Centre. The school is closed until the beginning of January and for anyone who doesn’t know, I shortened my stay in Africa. Originally I was supposed to be here for three months, however upon arriving I realized that the didn’t know what to do with my once the school was closed. I decided it was in my best interest to come home early rather than waste time and money. I will be home next week and I am very much looking forward to it. I will miss the people I have met here.
All of the volunteers made this trip so much easier than it would have been. I was so lucky to meet all of them.
I am going to miss the children at the school so very much. Their smiling faces can turn a bad day right around. At the school today I had to give a small speech to say goodbye. I told them how special they are to me and I will never forget them. I told them they have a special place in my heart and I will miss them very much. My eyes began to water and I felt a tear slowly roll down my cheeck. I quickly wiped it away and focused on spending time enjoying their company.
At the end of four weeks I do feel like I’ve impacted these children’s lives. I requested that they all make Christmas cards for me, and I  them they all wrote notes. They all had one thing in common. They said, “I will miss you” and “Dont go.”
If that isn’t reassurance that I have impacted their lives then I don’t know what is. One little girl, Venter (pronounced Benta) told me in her card “please please please don’t go. If you do I will run crying through the rain after you.” I love that little girl. I would take her home with me if I couls. She told me today about how her brother cut her. She showed me a scar on her arm and said he cut her with a nail. It looked more like a knife wound.
My heart broke for this little girl who acted like it was the most normal thing in the world to be stabbed by her sibling.
She held my hand all day long and it made it so hard to say goodbye, not just to her but to all the kids in class two. They asked if one day I would come back to visit them, I hope one day I can. I know when this is all over I won’t be quite the same, I can feel it. It’s a change going on deep down and the thing is, only I can see it and know it’s there, and that’s okay.

2 Comments

  1. It’s always hard to say goodbye, but you did a good thing. And yes of course you impacted their lives. They will always and forever remember “teacher nikki “. We are all very proud of you. You have learned alot and have taught us alot.

Leave a Reply

